PERFECTION IS IMPERFECTION

1. Shoes, Peter Jensen, Spring Summer 2013 (peterjensen.co.uk)
2. Ad campaign, Comme Des Garcons, Spring Summer 2010 (comme-des-garcons.com)
3. Sculptural paiting, “Fallen” by Titus Kaphar, 2006 (tituskaphar.com)
4. Shoes, Alexander Wang, Fall Winter 2014/2015 (alexanderwang.com)
5. Skirt, Marco De Vincenzo, Fall Winter 2014/2015
6. Photograph, “Bows” by Billy Kid
7. Total look, Roksanda, Fall Winter 2014/2015 (roksanda.com)
8. Total look, Jonathan Saunders, Fall Winter 2014/2015 (jonathan-saunders.org.uk)
9. Total look, MSGM, Fall Winter 2014/2015 (msgm.it)
10. Headpiece, Piers Atkinson (piersatkinson.com)
11. Shoes, Roger Vivier, Fall/Winter 2014/2015
12. Bowl repaired with the Kintsugi method
13. Book, “Mess: The manual of accidents and mistakes” by Keri Smith
14. Elle Fanning by Pierre Debusschere for Bullett Magazine Winter 2012
15. Mirror sculpture by Mathias Kiss

 

INSPIRATION

PHOTO: Nan Goldin, Pierre Bedusschere, Billy Kid, Man Ray, Bernard Plossu, Wendy Bevan

The error, the interference, the shapes out of proportion: these are the aesthetic criterions on which the research of new forms is founded. Emphasized elements that make unique the structures.

Cherished defects, planned errors and incompleteness are synonyms for uniqueness, in which the element of obstruction attracts and excites, producing the imperfect beauty.

In fashion it’s a matter of ungrammatical elegance, of amplified or minimized shapes,of  asymmetrical lengths or sharp edges, of painted fabrics or excessive color combinations.

Beauty is not perfection, should never be boring, but always new and authentic in its way of being unique.

In Japan, the ancient Kitsugi technique, consists in repairing broken shards employing gold lacque. Each repaired ceramic is outstanding and has a new  and unique web of golden lines because of the randomness of the break. A practice that emphasizes imperfections, in which the healed wound becomes a perfect trait.

“Imperfection is in some sort essential to all that we know of life. It is the sign of life in a mortal body, that is to say, of a state of progress and change.” – John Ruskin

text and moodboard: Barbara Centazzo