GEOMETRY IS TRENDY

SQUARES, CIRCLES, DIAMONDS AND TRIANGLES: THIS YEAR THE GEOMETRIC TREND TRACES ARCHITECTURAL SHAPES AND CLEAN LINES

It all started in the 20s, when design took over on shapes, structures, materials and colors never used before: tubular and square forms, geometric aspects and primary colors. However the real change came in the ’60s, the decade of contrasts, time of break with the old to research the new, which found its maximum expression in fashion and design.

How can we forget the famous dress inspired by Piet Mondrian created by Yves Saint Laurent in 1965? For the first time the traditional use of a dress has been subverted, turning it into a canvas and making a style icon of the era.

And today, it is exactly here that the designers take their cue from the exploitation of geometric shapes and sharp forms played on the surface. There’s been a return to essential, a refusal to elaborate adornments in favor of the most basic geometric lines recognized as sophisticated and rational.

The real beauty lies in its ability to renew itself in contemporary forms and manners, allowing us to admire and being surprised again in front of the “new old”.

INSPIRATION:

ART:

Piet Mondrian, Giacomo Balla, Gerrit Rietveld, El Lissitzky, Ted Stamm and Alan Uglow

FILM:

Who are you, Polly Maggoo? By William Klein, Diagonal-Symphonie by Viking Eggeling, Anémic Cinéma By Marcel Duchamp, Thais by Anton Giulio Bragaglia, 2001: A space odyssey by Standley Kubrick

PHOTO:

Shirana Shahbazi, Nicholas Alan Cope, Nick Frank, Alexey Bednij

MOODBOARD:

1. Tycho, Awake album (tychomusic.com)
2. 8-bit Mona Lisa by Alex Schaefer (alexschaeferart.com)
3. Sculpture by Josè Pedro Croft
4. poster by Designers United (designersunited.com)
5. Copper door by Nicole Wermers – Untitled Forcefield – (nwermers.webs.com)
6. Total look, Valentino fall/winter 2014/15 (valentino.com)
7. Total look, Delpozo fall/winter 2014/15 (delpozo.com)
8. Total look, Fausto Puglisi fall/winter 2014/15 (faustopuglisi.com)
9. Total look, Prada fall/winter 2014/15 (prada.com)
10. Unknow furniture
11. Bag, Dries Van Noten fall/winter 2014/15 (driesvannoten.be)
12. Photo by Petr Jandera (petrjandera.com)
13. Shoes, Aperlai fall/winter 2014/15 (aperlai.com)
14. Julia Seeman graduate fashion collection 2014
15. Book, Humanism by Harold John Blackham
16. Bag, Fendi fal/winter 2014/15 (fendi.com)
17. Hat, Maison Michel Paris fall/winter 2014/15 (michel-paris.com)
18. Ring, & Other Stories, fall/winter 2014/15 (stories.com)
19. Skirt, Roksanda Ilincic fall/winter 2014/15
20. Shoes Pierre Hardy fall/winter 2014/15 (pierrehardy.com)

 

Moodboard and text Barbara Centazzo